IPL Season 11 Summary

  • ipl-season-11-summary

Season 11 of the Indian Premier League (IPL 11), a professional Twenty20 cricket league, established by the BCCI in 2007 is going to be concluded in not less than a week. This season, which is being held from 7 April to 27 May 2018, saw the return of the former IPL Champions Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals after serving a two years of suspension for the involvement of their respective owners in the 2013 IPL betting case and two year temporary inductees, Gujrat Lions and Raising Pune Super Giants are officially ceased their contract and no longer part of the league. This was the first season of the IPL to use DRS, in which 8 teams played.

Mid-season transfers is another attraction introduced in this season but used by no franchise. It’s a short five-day transfer window applicable only for uncapped players who have played not more than two matches in the midway mark of the tournament. Governing Council of IPL announced that each IPL franchise could retain a maximum of five players. A franchise could retain a maximum of 3 players and a maximum of 3 players through right-to-match(RTM) card in the auction. 

IPL brings new stars into limelight and adds more glow to the experienced stars every year. In the very first match of the IPL-2018 Chennai Super Kings, who are back after their adjournment and stunned the defending Champions Mumbai Indians. D.J. Bravo played a heroic innings 68 of 30 deliveries with 7 massive Sixers and 3 boundaries. Kane Williamson, K.L. Rahul, consistent starswho have shown a lot of commitment with the bat this year. K.L. Rahul scored 659 runs with average of 54.92 for Kings XI Punjab and Kane Williamson scored661 runs with average of 60.09 for Sun raisers Hyderabad and he can score more runs as he successfully led his team into playoffs. Rishab pant (Current Orange Cap holder) from Delhi is the real Batting star of the IPL – 2018 he scored 684 with a stupendous Strike rate of 173.60 for Delhi Daredevils competed superman of cricket and Mr.360 Ab de Villiers. Mr.360 scored 480 runs with 174.55 strike rate for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Sadly, both haven’t got enough support from their team. Surprisingly Andrew Tye from KXIP grabbed the Purple Cap with 24 wickets with best figures of 4/16 left many T20 bowling stars behind like Bhuvaneshwar, Bumrah, Boult, Rashid khan, Umesh Yadav etc behind. On an Comprehensive, bowling departments of all teams competed very well and their performance is very satisfying to their teams. Few stunning Catches were grabbed, best among them will be a boundary line catch of Ab de Villiers.

Cricket is a game  which needs team performance not on individual one. On a whole Sun raisers Hyderabad who are always considered as under dogs performed very artfully in the absence of their former captain David Warner. The way Kane Williamson ledhis Orange Army into qualifiers was  very cosy. Shikar Dhawan, Rashid Khan and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar are the key weapons of the Orange Army Leader. M.S. Dhoni, the living legend successfully fled his yellow lions into Qualifiers yet one more time. It’s still a mystery how he leads his team into Qualifiers of IPL every year. Promotion of Ambati Rayudu as a opener just added one more beautiful feather into the crown of the Kings. He has done massive destruction by taking the batting responsibility on his shoulder. by the way they already have world’s best finisher (M.S. Dhoni)  in their side as a captain to complete the things off in style.

Kolkata Knight Raiders, the third placeholders of the points table fixed their Qualifier spot with a complete team effort. Their Captain Dinesh Karthik, who got trolled for getting appointed as captain of KKR proved every hater wrong with his consistent performance individually and team leading performance as well  and Rajasthan Royals how ever managed to get the pass mark and reached playoffs with the help star performer Jos Butler with five 50’s in a row. it’s really sad news for them that Jos and his team mate from the England Ben stokes, highest paid player in the IPL Auction – 2018 will not be available for the further matches. However Ben stokes ended IPL -2018 as a high paid failure for his team.

Rohit Sharma who failed individually and as a captain as well . IPL-2018 will a night mare for Hitman and his Mumbai Indians. so called all rounder  of Mumbai Kieron Pollard is the biggest drawback for their team this year. Royal Challengers Bangalore, one of the Strongest team on Paper failed because of their Management decisions. Virat Kohli, the Blaze of cricket  tried his best with his available resources. Finally he got a stabilized team but its too late for this IPL. Hope RCB give their mark show in the IPL-2019.

For now Lets see who will lift the IPL – 2018 trophy CSK are obviously Title favourites and SRH are damn dangerous too with their consistent bowling attack and Consistent performing captain. KKR and RR can never be ignored .on their day they can do wonders. Lets see who will kiss the trophy this year on 27th May.

No Replies to "IPL Season 11 Summary"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK